Sunday, November 30, 2008

First blog, first post, first try.

The title of this blog says "Sabah State Library Sandakan Zone." The Sabah State Library is run as a State Government Department, and its headquarters is based in Kota Kinabalu, the capital city of Sabah, also affectionately known as "The Land Below the Wind." The State Library is administered in six zones :

1. Kota Kinabalu
2. Sandakan
3. Tawau
4. Keningau
5. Kudat
6. Beaufort

The Sandakan Zone comprises the following libraries :

1. Sandakan Regional Library
2. Beluran Branch Library
3. Bukit Garam Village Library
4. Telupid Village Library
5. Entilibon Village Library
6. Tangkarason Village Library
7. Tongod Village Library (will be operational circa 2009)
8. Penangah Village Library (will be operational circa 2009)

Hi! My name is Cecilia Chai, and I am the Head of the Sandakan Zone. I will be moderating and updating this blog. My staff and I hope to be able to maintain a forum among our library members, library staff, as well as our library superiors in Kota Kinabalu! We appreciate and welcome your constructive comments, and we hope to continue to improve our library services.

We will be posting activities, events and programmes of the library, and hey! Did we mention we also have clowns? In fact, we have two of them! Odey and Joey make occasional appearances especially during our activities. We urge you to come to the library more often, and help make your library the best place to be, to gain knowledge, to update oneself, and to "travel" the world literally! See you at the library!